• Categories

Remembering life, not death, of John Lennon

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=beatles&iid=7342012″ src=”2/0/9/5/Fans_observe_the_e599.JPG?adImageId=8168702&imageId=7342012″ width=”234″ height=”317″ /]Sometimes I don’t write about business in this weblog and today is one of those times…although the music industry is business, isn’t it?  I subscribe to The Huffington Post online and today’s digest included an article by Joe Scarborough, “Remembering John Lennon Twenty-nine Years Later.” Mr. Scarborough said in the article that he was still in high school that awful day when the world lost an artist – I think it’s always tragic when artistic souls leave this world.   He said in his article, “…I was too young to remember the Beatles as anything more than a former band….”

I was older…am older and remember them very well.  I was barely 13 years old when the Beatles appeared on the Ed Sullivan show.  My memory not recording these details that well, I went to Wikipedia for this information: the British band appeared on Ed’s show three consecutive Sundays.  That first appearance I saw because our family watched the Sullivan show religiously every Sunday night – we gathered to watch Bonanza also – television in my youth was a way for the family to be together.  And I remember this first appearance very well for a couple of reasons:

  1. my newly teenage heart jumped in instant love when I saw and heard these “long haired” crooners singing “I Want to Hold Your Hand.” I learned the song by heart after one hearing as is the way with teens.
  2. my dad was appalled; he thought they were too loud, too raucous and would ultimately have a very bad influence on his oldest child

I didn’t get to watch the Beatles’ subsequent appearances because dad would have none of it.  Nor did I get to purchase their albums.  I had to listen to their music on my little transistor radio [anyone remember those?] and at my friends’ homes.  My dad was very much Benny Goodman and maybe Paul Anka music, but certainly not the Beatles.

When John Lennon was murdered I was on the cusp of my thirtieth birthday.  I had a toddler and small baby and remember that night quite well.  It was awful.  What a waste.  I will never understand what drives one person to murder another.

I agree with Mr. Scarborough’s thoughts in his article about how music affects our lives; he says, “…The Beatles gave me a love for music that got me through one heartbreak after another….”  Music can help us translate emotion and transport thoughts.  Music stirs our souls and excites our imaginations.  Speaking of which, can you imagine what my dad thought of Jimi Hendrix and Janice Joplin’s music?  Let’s not even go there!

Share

