• Categories

Heart of a Military Woman and Veteran’s Day

I’m a veteran of the United States Navy.  I served during the tail-end years of the Vietnam War.  I worked as a journalist at the Fifth Naval District Headquarters which at that time was located in Norfolk, Virginia [USA].  Part of my work involved writing press releases that went out to community newspapers about ship arrivals and departures.  Part of my work involved covering posthumous awards ceremonies…these always tore at my heart.  A bright spot of my time then was an Easter Sunday morning when I was able to attend dawn services aboard an aircraft carrier.  A funny time was when I had to deliver a message to an officer aboard a destroyer and I was wearing dress heels trying to climb up and down those ladders!

H of MilitaryWomanSmall (1)I’m honored that my remembrances are being included in a new book, Heart of a Military Woman.  This book will be available beginning December 1 online at Amazon.com and through bookstores such as Borders.  In fact, if you are in the Chula Vista, CA area December 12, there will be a book signing event from 2-5 pm.  Borders-Chula Vista (Eastlake), 878 Eastlake Parkway, Ste. 210, Chula Vista, CA – San Diego County.  If you are interested in purchasing this book in advance you go to to this link.  

Share

