• Categories

Interesting Small Business Blog Directory

[picapp src=”0228/cab5278d-f076-48ae-add7-9120665e3954.jpg?adImageId=6983905&imageId=232218″ width=”234″ height=”195″ /]I ran across something new (to me) this week while doing my blog reading “homework.”  As part of keeping up with the latest in information for small and home-based business – and just business in general – I “surf” blogs of interest.  I did an interesting journey-of-sorts while surfing last evening.  Kind of like the however-many-points-of-separation game…start here, which leads to there and you find this.  This is how it worked:

  • I began with an initial reading through ProBlogger’s “31 Days to Build a Better Blog” by Darren Rowse.  I’m going through this workbook as an exercise to be a better blogger…makes sense – part of my business plan is continual improvement.
  • Chapter 6/Day 6 is about learning from successful bloggers of the likes of Seth Godin, Liz Strauss and Chris Brogan – as well as others.  I’m a diligent student so I looked up every one of them.  Some I’m already familiar with as you can see by the blogroll to the right.  Well, in one of those articles I was directed somewhere that looked interesting and found myself at the Forbes.com site with an article review of “Small Business Blogs.”
  • In looking through the short list in the Forbes article, I visited the allbusiness.com site – it is rich with articles and blogs of interest to small and home-based business.  While there I noticed an article written by Denise O’Berry, whose tag line was “Just for Small Business.” Some great articles written by Denise here.
  • My next step was one of curiosity. I decided to do a search for small business blogs on Google.  Guess what came up? First was Small Business Blog Directory and second is the Forbes.com site mentioned above.  I went to the Small Business Blog Directory site and was astounded to find that the founder of this directory is Denise O’Berry.  And what a good idea she has in developing a directory whose emphasis is small and home-based business and those who write about these issues.

This was very cool.  I looked over the SBB Directory and decided Linda’s Business Blog just might find a home there, too, so I filled out the info.  I got the email just a bit ago that says my blog is now officially a member of the SBB Directory.  Today you can find me listed on the “What’s New” page.

What is instructive about this exercise is the idea that the internet has now become a valuable repository of information.  You do have to search and categorize and sift and sort to find just what you’re looking for; but you’d have to do that in a public library also.  There is criticism that “just anyone” can put up a blog or website and call themselves experts...but the same is true in hardcover print.  I think the proof comes in the pudding…or so the saying goes.  Either the source and information stands up over time or it doesn’t.

The internet is a rich ground for any small or home-based business owner seeking information, guidance and advice – doesn’t matter what their market niche might be.  The experts are out there.  Experts?  I have 2 definitions:

  • An Expert is someone with grounded experience in “whatever” – having won, lost and generally learned along the way and who comes out with positive gains…these are the business owners themselves
  • An Expert is someone who has studied the efforts of those who experience the “whatever” in all the fields in which the experienced players play…these are the academics

It’s like the art thing:  if you can’t make a living as a working artist, teach.  In both cases, the person has the expertise of the subject.

My advice?  If you are a small or home-based business person seeking information go to the obvious sites first such as:

  • Business.gov“…Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements, and locate government services supporting the nation’s small business community….Business.gov is an official site of the U.S. Government….”

Then do some research on blogs that give good help and tips – find them through such blog directories as:

And, of course, do internet searches on your own.  The information is out there and, just as at a public library, you have to go in and sort and look.

 

Share

4 Responses

  1. “There is criticism that “just anyone” can put up a blog or website and call themselves experts”

    indeed there was, but I still believe that no matter how hard you call yourself an expert, it all comes down to how much information you have shared with other people. let’s just say it’s still the people’s vote that will put you in that throne.

    love your post! 🙂

  2. Carol, you are so correct. There is an article in my newspaper today that features “expert” opinion on both sides of the question as to whether a person ought to do stretches before exercising. Some “experts” say yes, some “experts” say no. As a pastor of a church I went to when my children were young used to say – paraphrasing here- “…don’t see me [the pastor] as any kind of expert; all I can do is give you my learned interpretation…you’ve got to go to the book [Bible] yourself and read….” – Linda

  3. Thank you for very useful article. But I had trouble navigating through your website as I kept getting 502 bad gateway error. Just thought to let you know.

  4. Thank you for the comment. Haven’t had anyone tell me they had navigational problems before…Wordpress.com is a great and reliable blog platform. – Linda

Comments are closed.

