• Categories

Meet Susan Degnan:home-business direct selling entrepreneur

“…What do Apple Computer, Hershey Chocolate, Mary Kay Cosmetics, and the Ford Motor Company have in common?  They all started out as home-based businesses.  Over half  of all U.S. businesses are based out of an owner’s home….” [see quote origin here]   According to the Direct Selling Association, in 2007 direct selling independent contractors were responsible for $30.8 billion in sales by 15 million people in the United States; and $114 billion and 62.7 million people worldwide.  That is a lot of home business activity.

Participating in this incredible home-based commerce landscape, with not one, but two home-based businesses is Susan Degnan…marketing and direct selling maven [ sdegnan1@nycap.rr.com ].  I like that word, maven.  It means someone who is experienced and knowledgeable in something.  And Susan is an experienced and knowledgeable direct seller and home-based business owner.  Susan graciously agreed to one of my interview blog posts.

Susan Degnan

Susan Degnan

Q:  I love to talk to people about the benefits of having a home-based business.  Susan, you have told me that you have a home-based business…what do you like about working from your home?

Susan: I love being able to work my business around my life. The freedom to do what I want, when I want to do it, without having the burden of having to be at a 9-5 job. I love my family and want to enjoy my life to the fullest. I want to produce a lifestyle for myself that allows me to not have to worry about money. I believe that a home-based business is the key to achieving that goal.

Q:  What would you consider to be the challenges of working from home?

Susan: Probably the challenge I face the most is motivating myself each day to work on my business. There is no boss and no deadlines.  Also, I really love being with my family and enjoy puttering in my house, so these things sometimes gets in the way of working my business.

Q:  Have you found the internet to be of value to you in your home business?  In what way(s)?

Susan: I am working with one of my team members on developing our website for nutrition and coaching.  Although I am a firm believer that talking to people is the key to success, I trust his judgment that this is a valuable venue.  I also believe that the internet attracts many people who do most of their business on-line.  My company is currently in 7 countries and within 10 years will be the largest health and wellness company in the world, so working the internet is a must!

Q:  You have two distinctly different enterprises that keep you busy as a business woman.  One is work you do in the publishing industry.  What challenges you there?

Susan: I am the Marketing Manager with my company and help new and seasoned authors market their books. Although this specific industry is fairly new to me, I am a people person and have been working in management in one venue or another most of my life.  The publishing industry keeps you on your toes, always learning.  I am challenging myself each day to become a better writer and that is somewhat stressful, because I have had insecurities about my abilities in that area.

Q:  You told me previously that you began a direct selling business.  Why do you think the direct selling industry is exploding as it is across the globe?

Susan: I believe that the time has come in our country where people now understand that corporate America is no longer a safe bet for employment. Working for someone else creates a false sense of security and leaves you living paycheck-to-paycheck.  If you want to secure your financial future, a home-based business that produces residual income is key!

Also, I have been very fortunate, because my business deals with health, wellness and weight loss.  I love helping people with their health and simultaneously have an opportunity to participate in a million dollar a day industry. Doing what you love while creating a secure financial future for your family is the best!

Q:  What are your particular joys in working in the direct selling industry?

Susan: That’s an easy answer. I want to roam freely through each day and participate in my life completely.  Financial worry is such a burden and residual income is the answer!  Additionally, people help me to grow spiritually and I want to offer something to each and every person I meet.  I know that each day I have an opportunity to contribute to the world I live in.

Q:  What advice would you give to a young person, say directly out of college, who might want to “be their own boss?”

Susan: Investigate a business prior to jumping in. A home-based business with a residual income is the way to go, but many businesses fail in the first few years. The five criteria that must all rank a #10 are: The owners of the company must be proven experts in their field. The products must be consumable, emotional is a home run. Timing is everything. Training must be superb and the comp plan must be a binary. Old MLM comp plans are too hard to work.

Thank you Susan!

Some helpful information about small business and direct selling can be found:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

6 Responses

  1. Money is not an aphrodisiac: the desire it may kindle in the female eye is more for the cash than the carrier.

  2. Hi – I don’t comment on many web sites but had to on yours. It’s very well-done! I really like how you write – very to the point, unlike a lot of other blogs. I don’t have time to read everything here right now, I found your site while looking for something else on ask.com. But I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will visit it regularly to read what’s new. Thanks for having this site. I love reading other sites about how to succeed at working from home. It’s such an exciting area. I started working from home about seven months ago and I have learned a lot in that time. I also started a small website about it myself. Seems like there is something new to learn all the time. Please visit my web site at http://www.LinkThe.com. Keep up the fine work!

  3. Billy – thanks for the comments. Having a home-based business is both a blessing and a challenge…it’s great to be in the driver’s seat, so-to-speak, but it can be challenging to find just what works for you. Good luck on your venture. – Linda

  4. Interesting comment. I’ve never found money to be a good stand-alone motivator…I tend to see money as part of the toolbox. – Linda

  5. Tim lloyd
    80 Little Burch Hill Road
    Granville NY 12832
    (518)854-3387(H)
    (518)222-8495

    We are looking for the cleanse orientation script, toxicity questionary, & easy weight olss cleanse script.

    Are there any scripts that we woud benefit from having to helop our business grow?

    Is there a way to listening to a morning call that you happen to miss, is there a website or a different phone # where the phone call that morning was taped?

    thank you

  6. I’m not sure what questions you’re asking and how they are relevant; if you are directing them to Susan Degnan, please refer to her email address in the post. Happy Holidays – Linda

Comments are closed.

