• Categories

3 thoughts about the beauty of language

Thought One:  I spend part of life as an artist.  I have a studio/office in my home in which I do the work of my business as well as the creative efforts of my art.  Now some artists I know paint or sculpt or mosaic [or whatever their “art” is] to music.  One acquaintance loves to blast classical music, says it inspires her.  Me? I work to movies and television shows on dvd.  Pretty much I listen to them…it’s a little difficult to watch the screen while painting or organizing mosaic tiles…but I love to listen.  I can look at a piece of art I’ve done and remember what was in the dvd player during its creation.  Lately I’ve decided to re-watch the entire X-Files television series. It’s one of my favorites.

Why the X-Files?  Partly for the sheer originality of it, partly for the well-craftedness [which is not a legitimate word, but I love making up my own language] and partly for the language.  This was one intelligent bit of writing – consistently.  The often complex conversations that the characters of Mulder and Scully would get into were interesting and deep and they even used big words…intelligent words — many kudos to the writers.

For instance, there is a line spoken by the character of Scully in the Season 4 episode, “Teliko,” that is wonderful:

  • “…Scully: Mulder, not everything is a labyrinth of dark conspiracy. And not everybody is . . . is plotting to deceive, inveigle and obfuscate….”

Now, who, in everyday usage, says ‘obfuscate?’  Regardless, it’s a joy to listen to the often beautiful language that flowed through this television series.  Another example, also from season 4, from the episode, “The Field Where I Died,”

  • …Mulder: At times, I almost dream. I, too, have spent a life the sages’ way and tread once more familiar paths. Perchance . . . perished in an arrogant self-reliance an age ago . . . and in that act, a prayer for one more chance went up so earnest, so . . . instinct with better light let in by death that life was blotted out not so completely . . . but scattered wrecks enough of it to remain dim memories . . . as now . . . when seems once more . . . the goal in sight again….”

Poetry.

Thought Two: I have a business acquaintance whom I met through an introduction by my brother , Brian Lee, the business consultant – Lorraine Rinker.  When you first go to her website, you are greeted by these words:

  • “…Today is your day!  Everyone is capable of living their dream.  All it takes is courage, determination, and inspiration!…”

This is wonderful language.  Her words energize and lift you up simply by reading them.  Lorraine has written an article titled, “Finding Work in Today’s New Economy.” In this article she talks about how we waste our time by “whining;” how we ought to be our “authentic self;” and other worthy tips.  She says:

  • “…It takes a combination of intellect, street smarts, finesse, and an extraordinary amount of fortitude to get back up after being knocked down. The odds that you will get knocked down or pushed aside (at least once) are higher than ever, but you will improve your ability to get back up if you consider my “lessons learned” about finding work today….”

The language she uses is both encouraging and informative.  She has an economy of verbiage that is poetic and direct.  Through language this consultant helps those facing a new future.  You can read the full article for yourself courtesy of Lorraine, by clicking on the title “Article by Lorraine R…” in the blue Articles Box in the right column on this blog page.

Thought Three: As humans we think we’re so special in our use of language…however, as the owner of an Amazon Double-Yellowhead Parrot, I can tell you that language is universal.  I’m not talking about the times George mimics human speech – which he does, and which he often does appropriately.  I’m talking about how he uses his own species’ language to communicate with me and make himself understood.  His own “birdie” language has inflection and tone, and, in its way, poetry.

Now, let’s tie all this to a home-based business…we must use the beauty of language to share the benefits of our products and services with others and the benefits of the income opportunity [should that also be a “product” of your business.]  It will only be through the use of language that we convey information and passion.


Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

