• Categories

Needlework advice for Sybase applicable for small business too

I like reading the business section of my morning newspaper – it often has interesting news – if not always news that I can actually use.  Today was different however.  There is a very interesting and well written story on the front of the business section titled, “Defying gravity – Economic slump can’t stop Sybase,” by writer George Avalos with The Bay Area News Group [which you can read at this link]. What I found most intriguing was at the very end of the article.  Mr. Avalos quoted Terry Tillman, an analyst with Raymond James & Associates as saying:

  • “…’Sybase has to stick to its knitting,’ Tillman said. ‘They will have to make good bets. They will have to be very focused and make the right kinds of bets on where they spend their resources.’….”

This was the summation to an article that talked about the success Sybase is enjoying in the face of a tough global economy.  Seems this company and its leadership have been making good decisions based on sound vision.  My translation of Mr.Tillman’s final comment is that Sybase needs to stick to what’s been working up to this point and stick to the basics of good business to keep on this successful track.

Now this is good advice for any business.  Stick to what is working and stick to the basics. If the fabric of your business is remaining strong, then don’t change the needles at this point, just keep doing what you’re doing.  Stay focused and make good decisions. Wow.  If this is advice a huge corporation like Sybase should follow, then how much more should we who have home-based businesses follow this same advice?

Here’s what I think we ought to do:

  • keep the vision alive – for the small, home-based network marketing/direct selling business or other type of home-planted business, the vision for the business is born in the dreams you have.  Do you dream of early retirement?  Would you like to pay off your mortgage?  Is financial control something you’d like to hold in your own hands?  Whatever your dreams, put on your leadership hat and use them as the driving vision for your business.
  • make good decisions – you already made the hardest and best decisions when you chose the business you’d start.  I chose direct selling after much research.  [I consider my art work to be my “product” and I consider fine artists to be artist-preneurs.]  My only decisions now are centered around daily business building.
  • focus on the tasks before you – keep distractions to a minimum.  If you are like me, with a similar type of business, you do much business utilizing online resources for communication.  One of the challenges is ignoring the influx of notices about “the next great thing.”  Here’s what I think: either you are committed to your business or you’re not.  If you did your due diligence and chose a company and product(s) [or service] about which you are comfortable and passionate, then you won’t be lured away by promises of greater riches with some other company.  For most of us financial success is not instantaneous...rather it is the result of planned hard work: consistency and determination and persistence.
  • work well and make good choices of where you place your resources – one of my greatest and most valuable resources is my time.  It is the optimal allocation of my time that is most important.

You know what else I liked about George Avalos’ story in today’s paper?  I liked that it was about a company experiencing success.  The current national and global economy causes our media outlets to highlight the gloom and sad stories…it helps to know that there are some people who are not losing their jobs.  It helps to know that there are products being purchased and that there are people purchasing them.  Hope is a precious thing.  Yes, my home-based business has only one employee – me, and I’m not a global player, but there is no reason that my business can’t succeed; there is no reason to think that there won’t be customers for my products.  If Sybase can do it, so can Linda C Smith [the name of my business].

And so can you.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

2 Responses

  1. I have been reading these posts for some time now and enjoy your site. Thanks for always delivering on the info. I would like to mention a service that I have begun using to <a target="_new" href="http://www.squidoo.com/internetmarketing-fordummies"build quality backlinks It´s a fantastic service but probably ending soon. It has helped my web site rankings a lot!

  2. Thank you for the kind comments. I must say, however, that it isn’t perhaps the best etiquette to use a comment as a promotional platform for your own product. Having said that, I did look at your site and don’t believe I need this type of service. I write my blog not to advance site rankings but to share information and engage in conversation. I think any business owner needs to know what his/her business is, what the purpose is in order to know what types of business building services to spend money on. – Linda

Comments are closed.

