• Categories

Business is like a game of spider solitaire

Do you play solitaire?  How about spider solitaire? This is a challenging game where you have to match more than one deck, suit-by-suit.  I have spider solitaire on my laptop desktop and do admit to playing it – a lot.  My daughter Kim also plays and I have to say, her win ratio is much, much higher than mine.  I’m not the sharpest tool in the box when it comes to strategizing.  However, I don’t quit trying.

I was playing yesterday and my win-to-lose ratio was continuing to look pretty sad, but I didn’t quit trying – because I know from experience that sooner or later I will win. Sometimes I’ll even win several in a row until that losing thing comes back and I have to keep starting over until next I win again.  And this made me think of business.

This is much like business.  Especially a direct selling, network marketing business. You get so many “no’s,” so many “not interested’s” that it gets discouraging.  But, just when you think no one any where sees what you see in either your business or your products, someone says “yes.”  You win again.  So you keep trying.

I admit to envying those people born with natural sales abilities...I’m not one of them.  What gifts I do have include determination, faith and dogged stick-to-it-ness. After all, there are 6+ billion people on this planet and sooner or later a few will see what I see in my business and products.

Having a direct selling, network marketing business is not easy for the majority of those who venture into those waters.  But those are worthy waters…most of these companies are fine, quality businesses with competitive, high-quality products and services.  It takes work, perseverance and faith.

So, I let the computer deal the deck and I start once again to match suits and see if I can add to my win ratio.  After all, I want to be like Kim.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. I don’t play solitiare however, you comment on keep trying it good for everyone’s business.

    You can’t win if you are not in the game the entire time.

    Dr. Letitia Wright
    The Wright Place TV Show
    http://wrightplacetv.com
    http://www.twitter.com/drwright1

Comments are closed.

