• Categories

Personal reflections on recent celebrity passings

I’m of an age when I’m shocked at the age other people I know about are passing away…dying.  It’s because they are either not that much older than I am or they are a bit younger than I am.  Makes your own mortality come into focus.

The passing recently of celebrities whose careers I’ve followed because I like some part of their work, like David Carradine as Kwai Chang Caine in the television series, “Kung Fu,” have given me moments of pause.   That series was special…it addressed racial issues, religion issues, culture clashes and brought to my life a culture to which I knew nothing.  I was born in Oakland, California and raised in a part of the central valley back when it was all farmland…not the bedroom communities for Silicon Valley it is now.  I knew nothing about China, the country from which Carradine’s character came, but I was intrigued by the flashes into ways of living that were different from my own.  I grieved at Mr. Carradine’s passing because it made me miss a part of my younger years.  I appreciated his portrayal of that character of mixed race.

This morning’s headlines also carried grief, the passing of Farah Fawcett and Michael Jackson.  I was in my twenties when the television show “Charlie’s Angels” debuted.  I confess, I loved it.  Why?  I loved the mystery element, I loved the detective element and I loved the hair, make-up and fashion elements.  I loved that the three actresses played three different kinds of women but acted as a team.  Ms. Fawcett was a tremendous actress as she showed in the breathtaking film, “The Burning Bed.”  Even today it is difficult for any woman who has been mistreated by her husband to come forward…Ms. Fawcett’s courageous performance brought a tragic, hidden life that some women live, to light.

That Michael Jackson has passed away is shocking.  One of my favorite memories has to do with one of his hit songs: “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin'” from the “Thriller” album…actually every song on that album.  His music was – is- cross generational.  Doesn’t matter what generation you’re from, there is something in some part of his music that will get your feet moving and your voice humming.  Well, I loved “Thriller” from the first moment I heard it.  My daughters and nieces [now all in their late twenties and early thirties] also love this album.  When they were teens, we were all driving somewhere and I had that playing on the car cassette player, and we had the windows rolled down and were singing at the top of our lungs as we drove down I-5 down the center of California.  Don’t remember where we were all going, just remember what an awesome time we had singing those songs.

This is a weblog about business, small and home-based business, but it is written by a person who also enjoys film, tv and music and appreciates the gifts and talents of those people who make those industries their business.  I will miss the talents of these gifted people.  My condolences to their families.


Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. Nice article. it is appreciated,

Comments are closed.

