• Categories

What my parrot’s nutrition has to do with my business

George

George

Four and a half year-old George – a Double Yellow-Head Amazon Parrot – has been in our family since he was 6 months old.  He’s amazingly intelligent, independent and loving. And curious.  And mischievious.   And, yes, he talks – a lot – and sings

But what does his nutritional habits have to do with my business?  In this photo George is chowing down on his morning serving of green leaf lettuce.  Some mornings he’ll eat only part of the leaf, other mornings none at all…but some mornings he’ll eat two full leaves.  The interesting thing is that he’ll only eat the dark green leaves…and they have to be fresh and crisp.  [I’m the only person at my local grocery store who buys lettuce based on the quality that her parrot demands.]
George’s diet includes a variety: a daily serving of dried biscuit-like food and only a tiny amount of seeds and nuts – parrots are even more susceptible to the dangerous effects of fats in their diet than are humans.  He also gets a dish of fresh vegetables and some fruit.  His favorite vegetables are English pea pods, fresh green beans and asparagus; celery, lettuce, thawed frozen peas, fresh corn on the cob, fresh acorn squash, even pumpkin and he loves butternut squash.  He’ll try other vegetables from time-to-time.  This bird has a “sweet beak” for fruit – but for his own health we do limit the amount.  His favorite fruits on the planet are blueberries…he will purr in delight as he eats them.  He loves Washington Red Apples [only Washington Reds]; he loves manadarin oranges [whole ones, he likes to peel them], he’ll try strawberry once in a while, pear, papaya, mango and other fruits I buy in summer.  Although he’s not a fan of the melons: watermelon or cantaloupe.
His diet sounds nearly perfect doesn’t it?  He eats better – more nutritionally – than most people.  Minimally, we humans should be getting either 5-7 or 7-9 servings of fruits and vegetables a day.  Do we?  Are you?  It’s not as easy as you would think.   I have to admit that my little family eats more nutritionally since bringing George into our family than before.  But it’s hard to stretch the food budget in this economy.
One of the reasons I started the direct selling home-based business I did was for the product.  My product is a nutritional fruit juice.  It has such a variety of fruits in it that I am confident I’m getting at least what I need in fruit every day from my morning glass of juice.  It’s one of the selling points of my product for customers that they can help their nutritional needs by drinking this juice.  It makes me feel good knowing that my product helps people’s overall wellness regimen.
There are many home-based business opportunities to choose from.  If you are interested in starting a home-based business – and there are many reasons to start one now in this economy – check out those whose products help with wellness.  Just a suggestion.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

3 Responses

  1. George is adorable!

    I used to have a love bird when I was a kid- always tried to get him to talk, but it never happened. 🙂

  2. I’ve always thought that I would lose weight and be healither if I followed the “Parrot Diet” I feed my feathered housemates. I really ought to give it a try…

  3. It soulnds like you have learned some things about good nutrition from your parrot and a lot more. By watching animals, we can learn about how to create balance in our choices in regard to food and well as making time to play, explore, and in their own way, work with joy.

Comments are closed.

