• Categories

Two things to do when you have the flu

Besides drinking plenty of fluids and not breathing on anyone?

Two things to do when you have the flu and business is just not on the day’s agenda:

  1. have a stack of dvd’s ready by the sofa onto which you’ve plumped your favorite pillows with a cup of Gevalia’s Ancient Cherry Tea – I spoon in a nice dollop of honey to soothe my sore throat [if you haven’t tried this tea, it’s inspirational]
  2. browse the newspaper to see if anything jumps out

**side note: because I have a direct selling business and work from home, I have the “luxury” of being sick – one of the beauties of a network marketing business’s residual income features is that it keeps on working even when you don’t. 

Today’s newspaper perusal:

  • on daytime talk show Martha Stewart , Paula Abdul is going to bake chocolate thumbprint cookies …” filled with creamy ganache….” – I’m trying to get excited about this, but since I have the flu nothing food-ish sounds good
  • on The Doctors  some kind of “…cutting-edge test can be taken at home to detect more than 100 potentially dangerous diseases….” – well, I’m going to pass on that one because in my delicate condition I might catch something else just by knowing about it
  • then there’s some kind of whoop-de-do big news about NBC having Jay Leno’s show on 5 nights a week at 10 p.m….well, again I can’t get worked up about this because I’m usually falling asleep by 10 p.m. – yep, my Amazon parrot, George, and I call it a night about 10 p.m. while husband checks his email.
  • local gasoline prices have fallen 71 cents overall [we’re of course talking about the Bay Area in the U.S.] – at our local station we saw it push almost $5.00 a gallon in June…now it’s closer to $1.90+ – amazing isn’t it, that the “oil producers/industries” can yank that gasoline price chain however they want?  [AAA is right now showing a current state average for California for regular at $1.788]
  • okay, here’s a big item: the Dow falls 243…well, the Dow goes up, the Dow goes down…like the roller coaster I enjoyed at Disneyland during our vacation in October [well, my sister-in-law and husband enjoyed it, my brother and I…not so much]
  • Oh! some GOOD NEWS!  Netflix, Inc. is having a very good quarter!  Finally…a company doing well.  Good for them!

There is one other thing I want to do today before I take my many cat-naps…read the Dec. 8 issue of Newsweek – I bought it because it has a story on the cover that sounds promising: “How to Fix the World.”  I’d really like to know if there is an answer.

roller-coaster

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

2 Responses

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onTwo things to do when you have the flu « Lindaâ??s Business BlogHere’s a quick excerpt**side note: because I have a direct selling business and work from home, I have the “luxury” of being sick – one of the beauties of a network marketing business’s residual income features is that it keeps on working even when you don’t … […]

  2. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onTwo things to do when you have the flu « Lindaâ??s Business BlogHere’s a quick excerpt**side note: because I have a direct selling business and work from home, I have the “luxury” of being sick – one of the beauties of a network marketing business’s residual income features is that it keeps on working even when you don’t … […]

Comments are closed.

