• Categories

What Network Marketing business and Art have in common

A Network Marketing business is a model of doing business that involves direct sales of products or services person-to-person away from a fixed retail location.  Depending on the company, the salespeople may be called distributors, representatives, consultants or various other titles. Products are sold primarily through in-home product demonstrations, parties and one-on-one selling [which also includes purchasing via an individual distributor’s website].  [Direct Selling Association]  It is also a generic term that covers the realm of direct sales and multilevel marketing. As a network marketing person, you would sell products through your own network of friends, neighbors, co-workers and so on. In some instances, you may gain additional commissions by recruiting [sponsoring] other agents/distributors. [Entrepreneur.com]

A Network Marketing – or Direct Selling – income opportunity is a creative business.  So is Art.

To illustrate, I’ll apply principles of design  to a network marketing business:

*One principle of Design is Unity – When you are a member of a network marketing business, you are family.  You develop close relationships with the people you work with, even with your customers.  Why?  Because a network marketing business is a person-to-person business [one sale at a time] it is a relationship business

  • The multi-level aspect of this business model also makes for a family feeling.  People whom you sponsor become friends because you work with them to help them become successful.  It is a beautiful synergistic relationship. 
  • *[personal aside: why anyone would think an mlm or network marketing or direct selling business is a “pyramid scheme” is beyond me – a pyramid scheme is illegal– usually there are no products at all and to get paid for recruiting someone makes no sense –how will that help them to be successful?  In a network marketing business the person you sponsor does not pay you to join, they pay their signin fee to the parent company…the commissions earned by sponsoring have to do with total group sales volume…you don’t earn until and unless your downline does.  If you want a better definition go here: Federal Trade Commission.]

*Another design principle is Harmony – one element of a design works in harmony with another; so too in a network marketing business.  One of the reasons to go to the hotel meetings is to hang out with others in your business – with others who are as enthusiastic about your product as you are.  We humans are amazing creatures…one person’s pure enthusiasm is contagious.  We’re also terrific encouragers of others who are travelling our same path.  We love to give a hand to help up those climbing the side of the mountain with us and we really do want others to join us because we love to party together and celebrate one another’s successes.

*Contrast is a principle of design – lights, darks…shifts of the value scale.  My own journey with my direct selling business is a contrast of my own beginnings of learning how this business works, what I could accomplish with the growth as a person I’m gaining; also contrasting the potential of this business against the reality of financial and physical wellness without this business or this product in my life.

*Rhythm – starting is often an uphill “I think I can, I think I can” proposition; but once you get going, you get into a rhythm: personal use is purchase, use it, purchase more; business is  invite others to share it – both the product and the income opportunity and provide good customer service to your customers and business building encouragement to those who join you to build a business of their own – over and over.

*Another design principle is Repetition – I use this principle in my own painting, repeating motifs.  In a network marketing business it is key: invite, taste and share  over and over again.  In most successful direct selling income opportunities the basic “how to do business” is both easy to learn and duplicatable.

*Gradation is a design principle – from light to dark, from small to large for example.  In business, from small, baby steps to growing in both profitability and overall team network.

*Balance is an interesting design principle – I say interesting because as an abstract artist, I like my work to be out of balance, to me it is more interesting…having said that however, it amazes me that once a piece is finished, it is balanced in some way.  In a network marketing business it is important to have balance – and perspective: keep your priorities straight, know why you are working so hard and keep your dreams alive.

*And finally, the design principle of dominance – in my artwork the dominate feature is color; I am an abstract colorist – to me, color manipulation is the point.  In a network marketing income opportunity, especially in my personal business, my goal is to always have my dreams my dominant reason for working my business.  To share personally, my dominant goal is to help my family.  Helping my family is the point.  I chose the company and the product I did because MonaVie is achieving this both physically with the product [physical wellness being the goal] and financially [financial health being the goal].

One of my Art heroines is the artist Georgia O’Keefe: she once said, “I don’t see why we ever think of what others think of what we do – no matter who they are.  Isn’t it enough just to express yourself?”

  • I find this quote relevent in this discussion because as an artist, especially as an abstract artist, one is always finding one’s work being criticized by “experts” – I believe art is always and forever subjective – it truly is in the eye of the beholder.  And as a person with a direct selling business, a network marketing, multi-level marketing business, I don’t even hear those people who, in their ignorance, claim that my business is just a pyramid scheme.  I am expressing myself through this business because my family is my priority…and, besides, I’m living proof that the product is golden.

As Wolfgang Von Goethe said: “Whatever you can do, or dream you can begin it.  Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.”

I invite your comments.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

3 Responses

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onWhat Network Marketing business and Art have in common « Lindaâ??s …Here’s a quick excerpt[Direct Selling Association] It is also a generic term that covers the realm of direct sales and multilevel marketing. As a network marketing person, you would sell products through your own network of friends, neighbors, co-workers and … […]

  2. Excellent article with several very important points. If you decide to work online, the company you choose to do business with definitely has to be reputable and have a track record. One I have associated with builds your downline for you with PAID POSITIONS intact to prove to you that the business model is profitable and worthwhile. You are welcome to join free and examine the business. Take as much time as you need .
    This method enabled me to have a downline built of over 100,000 pre-enrollees and paid members in less than 3 months. Sep 08 to Dec 08.
    Drop in anytime
    http://bettersignupnow.wordpress.com .

  3. mineralman – thanks for the comment and especially the point about doing your due diligence to know that the company with which you do business is reputable. My best to you in your online venture. – Linda

Comments are closed.

