• Categories

About newspapers, slavery and Justin Dillon

Some people say that “hardcopy” paper newspapers will soon be a thing of the past.  They say newspapers will go the way of the dinosaur as they’re replaced by television and digital news outlets.  They say it’s just too darn expensive to print and distribute.  That would be a shame.

I admit I love walking out my front door in the morning and picking up the paper – most of the time it’s right there on the driveway where it’s supposed to be and it’s not wet from the sprinklers or the rain.  I love sitting with my morning bowl of oatmeal and cup of coffee looking over the headlines, reading a bit here, skimming a bit there.  If something really grabs my attention, I will take it to my office and look up more information on the internet.  It could be my generation…I’m a Baby Boomer who just can’t imagine not having my morning paper.  I don’t go to the internet over breakfast and we don’t watch tv in our household – no cable here. 

As I’ve done before, my post today was inspired by something I read in my newspaper.  It was this morning’s newspaper  that brought a particular story to my attention.  I applaud the staff writer, Jennifer Modenessi for a well-written and thoughtful piece.  It did cause me to go to the internet and look for more information.

I live in the East Bay Area of California and it was the caption in the photo above the headline that initially caught my attention before I even saw the headline.  The caption was, “East Bay Musician Justin Dillon’s experience while on tour in Russia was the catalyst behind his film ‘Call + Response,’ which examines the issue of human slavery.”  I love seeing people from my part of the globe in the news in a positive frame.

I’m honest enough to say I’m not familiar with Justin Dillon’s music…I’m stuck with the music of my youth [still love “Purple Haze” and “Me and Bobby McGee”]…but it stirred my soul to see how this young man is using his gifts of creativity to bring a human rights issue to the fore.  I love that music and film can work together to illuminate a dark, hidden corridor of human illness. 

I love that he is utilizing the ways in which people communicate to spread the message.  As he is quoted in the article, “I don’t want to just leave someone there…I want to give them the opportunity to actually get engaged with the film by texting and looping in because the window of opportunity to act on something is so small….”

Justin Dillon’s business may be the making of music, but he’s using his business as a way of communicating a need that our world has that we all should address.  Slavery in the 21st century?  The answer ought to be “No!”

The article concludes with this quote by Dillon, “My premise is that the new underground railroad for slavery in the 21st century is digital…It’s empowerment and letting people know that because of globalization, they have a way of affecting this issue in a way that’s never been done before. I want to give the viewer not just information but an experience so that music transends their firewall of information and actually goes into their mind and heart. It’s amazing how much power we have.”

That slavery exists now is a shame we all must share.  People should not have to feel they have to sell themselves or endenture themselves just to survive.  People who trade in slavery should be shut down…those who are the slavers’ customers should be exposed and stopped.  This is a blog about business and it is my voice and my opinion that Slavery as a business should be abolished.

My hat is off to Justin Dillon for his courageous and innovative stand on this issue.  My hat is off to Bay Area News Group staff reporter Jennifer Modenessi for presenting a well-written piece.  To find out more about “Call + Response” go to this link to read Justin Dillon’s “How ‘C+R’ came to be….” on Facebook, and this link to read his blog.

The company for which I am an Independent Distributor, MonaVie, has an awesome cause which is supported both corporately and by individual distributors, The M.O.R.E. Project. The MORE Project seeks to change lives and restore families living in poverty in Brazil.   

How is MonaVie Associated with MORE?  The MORE Project is an independently operated 501-C3 nonprofit organization. Founded in 2006 by the Executive Officers of MonaVie Incorporated.  MonaVie is committed to paying 100% of the MORE Project’s operational costs. This means that every dollar donated goes directly to in-the-field operations. Additionally, the MORE Project benefits from the contributions and volunteering of many MonaVie distributors.

As businesses, as businesspeople, we ought always to keep the world-at-large in our sights.  We ought to always consider that business is not just to provide profit for our own needs, but to shed light and meet needs in the world.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. aO517h Thanks for good post

Comments are closed.

