• Categories

Success begins with Vision – great business strategy

I have a belief that when President-Elect Obama began his campaign, he did not envision coming in second.  I think he probably set winning the campaign as his “end goal.” 

Habit #2 of Stephen R. Covey’s “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” talks about the principles of personal leadership and is titled, “Begin with the End in Mind.”  He says in the book, “…If you want to have a successful enterprise, you clearly define what you’re trying to accomplish.”

I’m pretty sure that President-Elect Obama and his campaign team had set themselves a clear definition of what winning the campaign would look like.  My re-phrasing of this concept is that Success begins with Vision.

I read recently an article that said negative things about setting down your dreams, your vision.  This person had the idea that dreams won’t get you there.  Well, yes and no.

Dr. Covey does say that the first aspect of Habit #2 is Leadership.  In any organization [even if that organization is just you or just me] it’s Leadership that establishes the vision…that objectifies the dream.  Dr. Covey then says that the second aspect of Habit #2 belongs to Management – the aspect that gets the job done.

Yes, it’s not enough just to dream, to have a vision.  You do have to take action on that dream.  But I’m here to say that if you don’t first establish your vision, you won’t know where you’re going or why.

I began with a Vision for my home-based business before I chose which business it would be.  I examined my dreams and established my Why.  In this public forum I’ll share a part of that Vision, and it is to be able to contribute financially to global causes that have come to my attention and for which I have a heart.  One of those is the ongoing research to find answers for Diabetes.  My mother passed away from the complications of longterm Diabetes.  This is one of my Whys.

Once I had my Vision, I began to look for the vehicle to get me there.  I knew that a home-based business was going to be the vehicle based on various factors, and when I was introduced to the company I’m currently with, and did my due diligence, experienced its health benefits for myself, I knew that this was the vehicle model.

Success begins with Vision.  If you don’t know where you’re going, you’ll never get there no matter what kind of vehicle you hook your efforts on.

Do you know what success looks like to you?  Is it having a million dollars in the bank?  Do you know why you want or need that much?  Is it having Time – to spend with your family, to help in your community?  Is it the ability to answer the need that exists in so many places on this globe?  Is it to have the resources to help someone else achieve their dream?

I have a scrapbook…literally…and on its pages are pictures from magazines, notes on issues and website addresses of causes…all visual representations of my Vision.  The Leader in my business adds to it and visits it regularly to keep the Vision fresh.  The Manager of my business works to make it come to pass.

Is your business balanced with Leadership Vision and Vision Management ?

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

2 Responses

  1. Linda. This is exciting. I love Stephen Covey. He taught me so much which I could turn around and teach my team. I’m so glad you are blogging about the concepts he introduces. They are literally life changing.
    Keep up the good work. I look forward to your blogs.
    Joyce Penner

  2. Setting an end vision of where you want to be is absolutely essential. So is knowing exactly where you are as you begin. Without those two map points we can’t get anywhere. I also like to set monthly milestones to tell me if I’m on track or do I need to make and adjustment.

    Thanks for reminding us of this essential lesson.

Comments are closed.

