• Categories

Is retirement scaring you economically?

“Retirees in for ‘rude awakening,’ hearing finds,” was the headline in my newspaper. [The Valley Times/Contra Costa Times]  The story, written by staff writer Josh Richman, reported on a statement made by House Education and Labor Committee Chairman George Miller.

The story goes on to say that “the Congressional Budget Office testified American workers have lost more than $2 trillion in retirement savings in the past 15 months….”

This is scarey newsFrightening that public and private pension accounts have lost $1.9 trillion, according to the story.  And there are millions of Baby Boomers facing retirement now and into the next 10 years or so.  I’m a Baby Boomer.  But I will not “retire.”  Why should I?  There are things I want to do and places I want to go and experiences I want to share with my grandchildren.

When my parents reached retirement age my dad did, indeed, retire from his job of 25+ years.  But his pension was small.  So he and my mother found a new career.  Dad worked until he died, and he was content to do so.  He wasn’t content to sit and play cribbage all day.  He believed in contributing and taking care of himself and his family and his pension was just too small to do that adequately.

I’m taking a page from my dad’s book, although my choice of “work” is to build residual income.  Residual Income so that I won’t work forever, but my income will continue to grow so that I can do and accomplish.   I wish my dad had lived long enough to know the business I’m with.  He passed away a decade ago and the company with which I’m an Independent Distributor has only been here since 2005. 

I’m refusing to be scared by the headlines.  I’m refusing to believe that everything economic is dark and gloomy because it simply isn’t so.  Debt doesn’t have to be the way in which we live in America.  “Credit” is NOT what life is all about.

People are losing their jobs because of the horrible economic mess “out there.”  People are needing income to pay their bills, put food on the table and shelter over their heads.  People need to pay for transportation.  And the holidays are coming up. 

I’m going to put myself on a limb and sing a bird song of hope: not all economic news is bad.  There are companies out there that are not crumbling.  There are businesses out there not laying off their employees.  There are hundreds of home-based business opportunities that people can turn to which will augment or even replace their current situation and these companies are solid. 

Now might be a good time for a little hope and sharing of that hope.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. I hadn’t read that letter. Thanks for the heads up!

Comments are closed.

