• Categories

What are you reading?

There is an episode [“Court Martial“] of the original television series, Star Trek, where Captain James Kirk has to stand trial for something and he is represented by a very old school attorney, Samuel T. Cogley, who brings aboard books…lots of books.  This attorney points out to Kirk that nothing can substitute for the actual book…that the true nature of its content can only be found within its very pages. 

I tend to agree with that sentiment.  My books are not just read…I tend to devour them.  If it’s a book read for pleasure, I will bend its spine, crease its corners and reread it many times.  Some books become old friends.  I love all the adventures of Dirk Pitt  (trademarked hero of writer Clive Clussler) and I’ve read all of them several times over.

Books I read for knowledge, learning, motivation and inspiration are ones I can never loan out…I write in them.  I make notes in the margins.  I write between lines of text, giving my own meanings or asking myself questions.  If the books have quizzes, I answer them.  I even date them and when reading the book at a future time, will answer the questions again and compare my answers.  These types of books are not just for static reading, they are workbooks.  Over the past year and a half the following books have been my teachers and guides – ones I highly recommend.

*”Why We Want You to be Rich…Two Men – One Message,” by Donald J. Trump and Robert T. Kiyosaki.  The message in this book affirms my belief that building a home-based business that can give a person a residual income makes good sense.

*”The Art of the Start,” by Guy Kawasaki.  I like what it says on the title page: “The time-tested, battle-hardened guide for anyone starting anything.”

*books by Stephen R. Covey:

  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People…Powerful Lessons in Personal Change.” I spent four months in this book.  On the inside title page of my copy is the phrase, “Restoring the Character Ethic.”
  • Living the 7 Habits…the Courage to Change.”  In this book are stories of how people applied the principles of “The 7 Habits….” and the things that happened because of that application.
  • The 8th Habit…from Effectiveness to Greatness,” and its companion, “The 8th Habit Personal Workbook.”  

*”The Courage to be Rich…Creating a Life of Material and Spiritual Abundance,” by Suze Orman.  I left a piece of paper sticking out of this book that says, “eliminate using the phrase ‘I know I should.'” 

*”The Top 10 Distinctions Between Millionaires and the Middle Class,” by Keith Cameron Smith.  I love this from page 28:  “…A choice is backed by a belief that you can do it.  A wish is backed by a doubt that you can….”  What this tells me is that I choose to be successful…not that I wish to be successful.  Profound difference.

*books by Jeffrey Gitomer:

  • Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Gold Book of YES! Attitude…How to Find, Build, and Keep a YES! Attitude for a Lifetime of Success.”  Just about says it all in the title.  My copy of this little book is heavily highlighted with writing everywhere in pencil and pen.  I love its “in my face” frankness.
  • Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Green Book of Getting Your Way…How to Speak, Write, Present, Persuade, Influence, and Sell Your Point of View to Others.”   Either you believe in your own business or you don’t.
  • Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Black Book of Connections…6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships.”  Truths about connecting.

*two books of pure inspiration:

  • Naomi’s Breakthrough Guide…20 Choices to Transform Your Life,” by Naomi Judd.  A gem from page 15: “…you and I always get to decide what meaning we attach to every change, good or bad, that happens to us….”
  • Become a Better You…7 Keys to Improving Your Life Every Day,” by Joel Osteen.  Says Joel…”Start making positive declarations over your own life.”

What’s in your library?

One Response

  1. Hi Linda,

    Are you familiar with Bryce Courtenay at all?
    He’s originally from South Africa but lives in the land of Oz now (Australia). His books are so rich in character and grab you from the get go. If you like books about other places and about rich characters, you may enjoy his writing.

    Cheers,
    Mary

Comments are closed.

