• Categories

Who are your business heroes?

There is much talk in the business consultant world about the value of a mentor.  There is no denying that having someone who can come alongside you, advise you – who lets you bounce ideas and concerns off of them and offers honest appraisal – is very valuable to a person’s growth.

If you read enough success-oriented magazines and books, listen to enough audio presentations and video talks…you’ll learn that having a mentor is something desirable and you are very fortunate if you find one.

Mentors are heroes to those they help. 

There is another type of hero-mentor…this is the person who only comes alongside you via their books, cds or videos, or even if you attend one of their seminars.  They don’t know you personally, yet their material coaches you, inspires you and helps you grow.

One such hero-mentor for me is a super-salesman named Jeffrey Gitomer.  Mr. Gitomer does not know me, yet his work has been very powerful in my growth as a business person.  Jeffrey Gitomer has a series of “Little….Book of…”’s that I value and that have taught me a lot.

My favorite and the one that helped me over the hump of whether to begin my home-based business in the first place was Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Gold Book of YES! Attitude.”  Its subtitle is: “How to Find, Build, and Keep a YES! Attitude for a Lifetime of SUCCESS.”

This book doesn’t sugar-coat it…it tells you in your face what you can and cannot get from reading the book.  Every page is challenging and uplifting. 

In addition to the “…Little Gold Book…” I have the “Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Green Book of Getting Your Way [How to Speak, Write, Present, Persuade, Influence, and Sell Your Point of View to Others],” and the “Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Black Book of Connections [6.5 ASSETS for Networking Your Way to RICH Relationships].”

I read many books and articles about success, entrepreneurship, leadership and such, but I would argue that a valuable addition to anyone’s library would be books devoted to attitude – like the “…Little Gold Book of YES! Attitude…” and good books on salesmanship. 

Mr. Gitomer may not know me, but I’m grateful for what he has taught me through his books. 

