• Categories

Does Clorox know who their customers are?

The Clorox company was in my newspaper the other day because someone wasn’t happy about the company having “green” products.  Ever since the big noise in January’s news about Clorox buying Burt’s Bees, seems some people just don’t believe the bleach maker can go green.   I wonder who Clorox believes its customers to be?

Used to be the customers for this company were people who wanted to disinfect their bathrooms and get their clothes white.  Surely that was the demographic for both my grandmother and my mom.  These women used Clorox bleach to disinfect and whiten anything they could pour it on.  I did the same until recently. 

Being “green” isn’t easy.  I’ve tried some “natural” cleaning products, but my clothes just didn’t look or feel clean.  I found myself using more water to rinse them twice.  Now which is better, which is greener: using a “natural” cleaning product or using twice as much water?

It can’t be easy anymore, knowing who your customers are.  It’s not easy being a customer, either.  I recently stopped purchasing aluminum foil.  I began to feel guilty because foil does not decompose easily.  I wonder how long it takes to decompose?  What environmentally damaging processes go into the production of a 75 ft. roll of foil?  Have I done my homework to answer these questions?  Not yet.  A year ago, I would have been a customer for foil.  Now, I’m not.

As a home-based business person, it’s important to know who my customers are.  Does being “green” mean something to my customers?  Does “sustainability” mean something to them? 

Are my customers people who are: 1)interested in maximizing their personal health and that of their family? 2)interested in a product that is sustainable in it’s growth and production? 3)interested in a product that provides a growth industry – in a sustainable way, environmentally-friendly-way – in the area of the world where it originates? 4)interested in packaging that is recyclable? 5)interested in transport means that keep carbon-footprinting to a minimum? 6)interested in the parent corporation’s commitment to philanthropic giving-back? 7)interested in a company that nurtures its employees and distributors with a corporate culture that exemplifies all the above?

Using the Clorox company as an example, I don’t think it is so easy a matter any more for any size company [from the 1-person home-based business to the huge global conglomerate] to easily know exactly who their customers are. 

Do you know who your customers are?

